No, It’s Not a Weapon…It’s an Olive Tray

Image

 

Most of us expats are veterans at leaving things behind. Amidst the containers of stuff stored, sold, or given away, there is always one or more thing we manage to hoard. I think every one of us has a little kitchen treasure we salvaged from the “big move” to a far away land. Mine was this little number here: my olive tray. Yep, it came all bubble-wrapped in my luggage.

Image

If I had a daughter, I’d probably name her Olive. Good choice Drew Barrymore!

I don’t know what it is about this darn olive tray, but I just won’t let it go. I’ve lugged it here twice! Could it be because I live in an olive-loving country and knew that I’d be exposed to lots and lots of olives for real CHEAP prices, AND, I just happen to love olives? At about 19 dirhams per kilo, this tub of delectable Egyptian olives only cost me 2.44 USD! Back home in the USVI, this would be astronomically priced.

OK, so in a nutshell, olives are actually just as good for you in its fruit form (or drupe) as its oil by-product idolized by cooks and kitchen warriors. I’ve even read that they help with motion sickness, but don’t take my word on that. Look it up. A notable source of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory phytonutrients, most olive trees live hundreds of years. The oldest one is said to be over 2,000 years old!

So, given my adoration for these little round, salty, fruity morsels of heaven, I’m happy as a clam every time I run across an olive bar in the local hypermarkets. Best of all is that you can taste them before buying!

 

Leave a Reply

